Hotel Berlin, Berlin Review. Old Creaking Body Dressed Up To Look New

An old tart with lipstick is still an old tart. This pretty much summarizes my view of the Hotel Berlin in Berlin. It is an old and dated building that they have tried to tart up and make look trendy, funky and modern. But the problem is that the body beneath the new clothes and lipstick is not up to scratch. It is failing.

On a superficial level, they have done a decent job of this tried and uninspiring block of concrete. The lobby is bright, white and modern. The bar is trendy. The breakfast room all gleaming and shiny. But the problem is that the real substance of the building fails it. It is an old building with dated infrastructure. The rooms are small, the bathrooms plastic and the central heating/ cooling just does not work. Luckily for me it was winter when I stayed and I could open the windows to get the room a decent temperature to stay in.

The staff in the restaurant were great and the food was good. But expensive for what it was.

The hotel was just not worth it. I would not stay here again. Berlin is a dynamic and changing city. There are just much better places to stay at that in some old thing dressed up to look good. Underneath the new clothes it is lacking.

I do not recommend this hotel.

Watch my video tour above, talking more about this and showing you the room….

Gary Bembridge

I grew up in Zimbabwe, but I have been based in London since 1987. My travel life spans more than three decades and that includes more than 95 cruises. In 2005, I launched Tips for Travellers to make it easy and fun for people to discover, plan and enjoy incredible cruise vacations. And the rest, as they say, is history. I have the largest cruise vlogger channel currently on YouTube, with more than 3 million video views per month.

3 Responses

  1. Laura says:

    Dear Gary,

    Thank you for your review and for informing us about your opinion about our hotel.
    We are very sorry to hear that you were not fully happy with your room which is called business room. The room rate for this date was an exhibition rate for the ITB, therefore, a high rate period within the city. The workplace and the bathroom were not according to your expectations. We regret that we missed the chance to serve you better, as you naturally may expect it from us.

    Nevertheless, we would like to thank you very much for your feedback and your time to do so. Your opinion is very important to us, as we are permanently trying to improve our first-class-standards.

    We totally agree that Berlin is a dynamic city and therefore, as a sign of our regret, we would like to offer you a voucher for two nights in our brand new premium rooms, which were refurbished beginning of last year. My colleague will send you a personal email about the details.

    Thank you again for helping us to serve you better. I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.

    • Laura. Thanks very much for finding the post, watching / reading and commenting. Very impressive as you did this within such a short time of the post. Your comments are noted and also your kind offer for me to come back and to try again is something I appreciate! I look forward to hearing from your colleague! The approach on customer service and awareness of feedback is impressive! Gary

      • Laura says:

        Hi Gary,
        Thank you for the compliment, the email is already send out to the email address you used for your reservation. If you don’t receive it, just let me know so we can check everything again.
        Looking forward to your next visit. All the best, Laura

Leave a Reply